School Board Appreciation Week

The Wauwatosa School District joins public school districts across the state to celebrate Wisconsin School Board Week.

Taking place October 1-7, the week honors board members for their commitment to local schools and the students they serve. It is an initiative of the Wisconsin Association of School Boards, meant to build awareness and understanding of the vital function an elected board of education plays in our communities.

“It takes strong schools to build a strong community, and these dedicated individuals devote countless hours to ensure our schools are helping every child learn at a higher level,” said Dr. Demond Means, Superintendent. “They make the tough decisions every month and spend many hours studying education issues and policies to provide the accountability and service our citizens expect.”

Dr. Means emphasized that the primary mission of school boards is to elevate student achievement. This involves shaping a vision for the district, establishing high standards for student learning and performance, and systematically monitoring progress to guarantee the realization of district objectives and the achievement of expected student outcomes.

In addition to these responsibilities, school boards are entrusted with the duty of ongoing accountability, continuously tracking and reporting outcomes. They also work to create a safe and conducive learning environment, fostering an atmosphere where students can thrive and teachers can excel. School boards engage in collaborative partnerships within the community to address shared challenges and remain steadfast in their commitment to the continuous improvement of all aspects related to student achievement.

"School board members provide Wauwatosa citizens with a meaningful voice in shaping educational policy," Dr. Means added. "While we make a special effort to express our appreciation in October, their contribution is a year-round commitment."

The members serving WSD are as follows: President Dr. Eric Jessup-Anger (2017-2025), Vice President Dr. Jenny Hoag (2022-2025), Treasurer Liz Heimerl-Rolland (2023-2026), Clerk Dr. Lynne Woehrle (2023-2026), Michael E. Meier (2004-2025), Phillip Morris (2023-2026), and Jessica Willis (2022-2026).